Alderney Fly-in 2021

2018 Alderney Fly-intrictions

The Alderney Flying Club finally managed to hold its 2021 Fly-in over the weekend of Friday 15th October to Sunday 17th October. The event attracted aircraft from both Guernsey and the United Kingdom and were rewarded with unseasonably good weather in which to enjoy what the Island has to offer.

A full report, including this year’s trophy winners, will be announced shortly

The following is a list of trophy winners in 2019…

Longest Distance Flown
D-EVFG BE35 – Hubertus Sangermann from EDKU Attendorn (near Cologne) 660km

Largest Entry from a UK Club
Blackbushe Flying Group

Best Vintage Aircraft
G-AWWO Jodell DR1050 1964 cared for by Bill & Judy Brookes

Best Classic Aircraft
G-PSRT PA28-151 Warrior – Bob Nash from Enstone

Best Modern Aircraft
G-FMLY Commander 114b – Peter Jackson from Biggin Hill

Best Home-Built Aircraft
OO-H86 B&F technik FK14 Le Mans – Marc Fives from Saint-Ghislain (EBSG)

Best External Finish/Colour Scheme
G-ETIV ROBIN DR400-180 – Charles Prior

Most Interesting Aircraft
Three V-Tail Bonanza BE35:
G-APTY: flown by George Brennand
D-EVFG: flown by Hubertus Sangermann
G-ARKJ: flown by Hugh Smith

Senior Pilot (Flying to the event as P1)
George Brennand (87)

Junior Pilot (Flying to the event as P1)
Will Gilbert

Spirit of the Fly-In
Matt Altass with G-CUBA based at Denham

Special award: Best Ambassador for Alderney and the Fly-In
Marc Naylor based at Exeter (and facebook)